Mid-Year Bookish Favourites

Mid-Year Bookish Favourites

I’m pleased to say that so far this year I have read 73 books out of my target of 100 (according to Goodreads that’s 17 books ahead of schedule). I have decided that  it’s time to share with you a list of my favourite reads from various categories and genres. I recommend every book on this list and absolutely insist that you immediately buy and read all of them.

Favourite New Fantasy Series

theblackprism

Brent Weeks is a genius. His Lightbringer series is completely refreshing and individual, the magic system is based on converting, or drafting, light to make tangible things. You can read my full review of the first book, The Black Prism, here. There are currently three books released (all over 700 pages in length) and book four is due to be release on October 25th this year! Excited doesn’t even cover it.

Favourite Indie Author

Raye Wagner is the self-published author of the Sphinx series, an action packed set of books based around Greek Mythology. I am in love with them and am desperate for her to finish book three. You can read my review of Curse of the Sphinx, the first book, here. Stay awesome, Raye!

Favourite Graphic Novel

ratqueens

This one was a hard one. I couldn’t quite decide between Rat Queens and Lumberjanes. I finally picked Rat Queens because it speaks to me on a deep and personal level. I am part of an RPG group that meet every week and I love that the series is a group of kick ass women that are basically a D&D adventuring party. It is gory, exciting and full of interesting characters. I love it.

Favourite Non-Fiction

moranifesto

Caitlin Moran is basically my new hero. This year, I have listened to the majority of her books in audiobook form and I have to say that this is my favourite of her non-fiction. It covers everything from FGM to cystitis. You can read my full review here.

Favourite Audiobook

bookthief

I have owned this book since I was in my early teens but could never really get very far with it. I saw on YouTube that someone else had been struggling with it too but loved the audiobook. I decided to give it a go and was instantly transported to WWII Germany. Narrator Allan Corduner really captured Death’s personality and brought this wonderful novel to life.

Favourite Science Fiction

The_Martian_2014

As I’m sure you’re aware, The Martian is the story of astronaut Mark Watney when he gets stranded on Mars. I found this novel completely realistic and incredibly funny. You can, once again, read my full review here.

Favourite Young Adult

ravenking

The Raven King is the fourth and final book in Maggie Stiefvater’s Raven Cycle and what a finale it is! The series is filled with the supernatural, psychics, and friendship. I loved all the books but this one was definitely my favourite, it was extremely satisfying and surprising.

Favourite Magical Realism

harryaugust

I don’t read enough magical realism which is a shame because I really love it, I just struggle finding it. The First Fifteen Lives Of Harry August is a novel by Claire North about a man who lives his life over and over again, it’s up to him to save the world. You can check out my review here.

Favourite Romance

ontheotherside

This is not normally a genre I read but Carrie Hope Fletcher’s On The Other Side filled my heart with love, joy and hope. I haven’t been so enchanted by a story since reading Uprooted last year. Check out my review and prepare to be persuaded into reading this beautiful novel.

Favourite Re-Read

hpcover

I have done a full Harry Potter re-read this year (as per usual) but this time I listened to them on audiobook. This was my first experience with the audiobooks and I cannot recommend them enough, Stephen Fry is his usual excellent self.

So that’s a wrap! Let me know some of your favourites so far this year and if you can recommend any good magical realism stories I would be very grateful.

Keep Reading

Jaz

Leave a Reply

