MID-YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG!

MID-YEAR BOOK FREAK OUT TAG!

Welcome to the ‘Mid-Year Book Freak Out’ Tag. This seemed like a nice way to wrap up the first half of the year so here we go!

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2016.

theblackprism

I absolutely love this series. It has a great magic system and I flew through the 700+ pages. You can check out my review here.

2.Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2016.

invasionofthetearling

This was a difficult pick because I have read lots of great sequels, I chose this one in the end because it doesn’t appear anywhere else in this tag. This sequel had a great mix of politics, action and flashbacks. You can check out my review of the first book, The Queen Of The Tearling, here.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

gatheringofshadows

Despite being released much earlier this year, I still have not read the sequel to A Darker Shade Of Magic. I bought it a couple of days ago though and intend to read it when I finish my current read.

4. Most anticipated release of the second half of the year.

Who isn’t anticipating Harry Potter and the Cursed Child? Only 13 days left! I’m looking forward to the first book in Marissa Meyers new series, Heartless, which I believe is a retelling of the Queen of Hearts’ story. She is a wonderful author. I’m also looking forward to the Iluminae sequel, Gemina. I cannot wait to get my hands on this! You can check out my Illuminae review here.

5. Biggest disappointment.

soundless

This book was advertised as fantasy and it was so disappointing. The story was bland, hardly anything happened and they just slipped in a mythical creature at the end to fulfill the fantasy promise.

6. Biggest surprise.

guardsguards

I tried reading Terry Pratchett when I was younger and didn’t like it at all. I tried again this year and I don’t remember laughing so much at a book. I’ve since read many more Discworld novels and I love them!

7. Favourite new author.

I discovered all of these authors this year and have read more books of theirs since!

8. Newest fictional crush.

samvimes
Art from zazB

Samuel Vimes is the slightly reluctant and enigmatic leader of the City Watch, Ankh-Morpork’s hodgepodge police force. I think he is awesome.

9. Newest favourite character.

eviesnow

Evie Snow, from Carrie Hope Fletcher’s On The Other Side, is warm, caring and completely bonkers. I love her. Evie greatly resembles her author so I have used a photo of Carrie here.

10. Book that made you cry.

ontheotherside

I must have burst into tears four or five times whilst reading this. In public. You can check out my review here.

11. Book that made you happy.

ontheotherside

Again, this book has done so much for me. It filled me with that warm and fuzzy feeling. I love the characters and the story with all my heart. I felt like I was physically glowing when I finished.

12. Most beautiful book you have bought this year.

discworld

I love these hardback editions of the Discworld novels, I bought all of them this year.

13. What books do you need to read before the end of the year.

I don’t really have a TBR sorted for the rest of the year, I’ll just read what I fancy.

14. Favourite Book Community Member.

These are my two favourite BookTubers. Caz from Little Book Owl and Reagan from PeruseProject. I love both of their videos and always watch them as soon as I can. I particularly love that my reading tastes are similar to them both and I always get great recommendations from them. You should definitely check them out!

So that’s the tag done! Let me know who your new favourite character is this year in the comments!

Keep Reading

Jaz

Leave a Reply

