Book Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Book Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Falling Kingdoms is the first book in an ongoing YA fantasy series by Morgan Rhodes. Mytica is a world divided into three, this novel tells the tale of how the kingdoms are falling apart because magic, elementia, is all but lost. Can the prophesied sorceress save them?

fallingkingdoms 

The fourth book of this series came out recently so, naturally, there has been lots of hype surrounding the series on BookTube and it is this that alerted me to its existence in the first place. I had heard nothing but good things about the series and have to say that I was more than a little disappointed.

I found the writing style to be overly simplistic; with lots of repetition, it felt heavy-handed and clumsy. The character development wasn’t great either; everyone felt two dimensional and I wasn’t invested in them at all. The story also played host to a few undesirable tropes – the most obvious being instalove. I did, however, really enjoy the actual plot. I found it interesting and quite addictive. I also enjoyed the elemental magic and the realm of immortals called The Sanctuary. The novel uses multiple perspectives, something I love, and it was this that stopped it becoming a stagnant read.

Overall, I gave it a 3/5 stars and have decided to continue with the series when I get a chance. I’m hoping that both the writing and character development improve as the series progresses.

Keep Reading

Jaz

One thought on “Book Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

Leave a Reply

