The Classics Book Tag

The Classics Book Tag

classics

I saw this tag and thought it was a great idea, I hunted down the original and you can check it out at It’s A Books World. Here it is:

1. An over-hyped classic you really didn’t like.

This is definitely Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. We read it in school and while I liked the plot, I could not stand the writing style. I found it dry and it just couldn’t hold my attention.

2. Favourite time period to read about.

I like classics set in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, especially if they are contemporaries of that time.

3. Favourite Fairy Tale.

I think my favourite fairy tale is Little Red Riding Hood, but I’m not really sure. I like a lot them.

4. What is the classic you are most embarrassed about not reading.

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo … or Hugo Victor? Just checked, it’s definitely Victor Hugo. Anyway, I absolutely love the musical and am incredibly embarrassed that I have not yet read the book.

5. Top 5 classics you would like read soon.

6. Favourite modern book / series based on a classic.

Definitely The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. That series has everything, I love it so much.

7. Favourite TV series / film based on a classic.

A few months ago I would have said the BBC’s mini-series of Pride and Prejudice. Now, however, I say the BBC’s The Musketeers; an absolutely terrific show and my current favourite thing. The BBC really know their way around a classic. I will give special mention to Ten Things I Hate About You ( adaptation of The Taming of the Shrew) and Bridget Jones’ Diary (adaptation of Pride and Prejudice).

8. Worst classic to movie adaptation.

Gulliver’s Travels. It just didn’t do the book justice whatsoever.

9. Favourite classics editions you’d like to collect more of.

I love the Pulp! The Classics editions, I only have Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland so far.

10. An under-hyped classic you would recommend to everyone.

I would recommend War of the Worlds by H.G.Wells. The radio show and musical get a of attention but the book is a really worthwhile read, I enjoyed it immensely.

What’s your favourite classic? Let me know in the comments!

Keep Reading

Jaz

7 thoughts on “The Classics Book Tag

  1. My favorite classic is probably Wuthering Heights. I’m not even entirely sure why…I just love it! Also, I would definitely recommend The Catcher in the Rye! It’s another one of my favorites.

  2. My favourite fairytale would be Snow White and I recommend Animal Farm soooo much! I actually really enjoyed Great Expectations; it took me a while to get into it though. I’d say my favourite classics are Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre. 😊

Leave a Reply

