Reading Wrap Up: May

Reading Wrap Up: May

My reading game this month has been a little up and down but I think I’m through the worst of it! I read 9 books overall and am currently trying to read about 100 pages a day. This is where I stand with my 2016 Reading Challenge of 100 books:

Screenshot 2016-05-31 at 10.05.59 AM

Here are the books I read, the picture is today’s challenge from my Instagram:

mayewrapup

I have read some really great books this month and listened to some great audiobooks.

Physical Books:

Winter by Marissa Meyer … This is the final book in the Lunar Chronicles and it was fantastic, I wouldn’t change a thing! I gave it 5/5 stars.

The Fangirl’s Guide To The Galaxy by Sam Maggs … This was a good read detailing the struggles of fangirldom with lots of tips and tricks. While I mainly enjoyed this, I found it occasionally patronising and there was a bit too much ‘man hate’ in it for my liking. I gave it 3/5 stars.

Jingo by Terry Pratchett … Book Four in the City Watch Collection and it has not disappointed. I love the combination of humour and serious subject manner, I felt this one had a strong message of: ‘The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing’. I gave it 4/5 stars.

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater … This is the final installment in The Raven Cycle and it was a truly phenomenal ending. It wasn’t predictable at all and I felt so complete once I’d finished. It gave me a tremendous case of the feels. I gave it 5/5 stars and it is my favourite book of this month.

Brother In The Land by Robert Swindells … This short book (151 pages) is a nuclear survivor story set in Northern England during the 1980s. I read it in Year 8 at school and this was my first reread (I may have kept the book, it’s falling apart and has the school stamp inside). This was a very nostalgic read for me, I had forgotten how harrowing and hopeful this book is. I gave it 4/5 stars.

Audiobooks:

Moranifesto & How To Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran … I love Moran. Her writing style is phenomenal, her humour is spot on and she deals in both the silly and the serious. Both these books heavily feature feminism and lend themselves wonderfully to the audiobook format. I gave them both 5/5 stars and you can read my review of Moranifesto here.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K.Rowling … And so this year’s Harry Potter reread is complete (I know I did it in a funny order, but meh). Stephen Fry is a wonderful narrator and if you haven’t given the audiobooks a chance I would definitely recommend it. I gave is 5/5 stars (obviously).

The First Fifteen Lives Of Harry August by Claire North … This novel is an amazing combination of magical realism and historical fiction. When Harry August dies, he is always born again; and now he has to save the world. You have to read it. The narrator was a perfect fit and I listened to the whole thing in 2 days. I gave it 5/5 stars and you can read my full review here.

AND THAT’S A WRAP!

What was your favourite read this month?

Keep Reading

Jaz  

 

Leave a Reply

