Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Defend

Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Defend

This week’s Top 5 Wednesday is ‘Characters You Defend’. You can check out the Goodreads Group for Top 5 Wednesday here. And so, without further ado, here is my list of characters I love, but feel the need to defend.

Severus Snape

severus

Severus Snape from J.K.Rowling’s Harry Potter is not the best of people but I have been defending him for as long as I can remember. I was seriously relieved when he was revealed to be in on the right side in the last book, I felt vindicated. I believed in you, Severus, always.

Thalric

apt

Thalric (from Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Shadows of the Apt) starts this series on the ‘wrong’ side. Despite this, he has been my favourite character since almost the very beginning (my initial impression was that he was an arse). I was constantly justifying his actions to myself, luckily this got much easier as the series progressed.

Dexter

dexterpic

Dexter (from the series by Jeff Lindsay) is a sociopath and serial killer – but he only kills bad guys! His basically a vigilante superhero, right? I love his inner monologue and cannot recommend reading the series and watching the show enough!

Sarkan

uprooted

Sarkan is the wizard in fairytale-style Uprooted by Naomi Novik. Yes, he basically takes a girl as tribute every ten years but he’s not a bad guy. I loved his character from start to finish. And those who have read it will know what I mean when I say “How ’bout that Rose in the Library scene, eh?”

Smaug

smaug

Smaug (from Tolkien’s The Hobbit) is destructive, mean, and clever. But he’s a dragon! What were you expecting? If you hoard treasure in a magical world, of course a dragon is going to invade you mountain! If you later try to take that mountain back, the dragon is going to get real mad! It’s a DRAGON! I would love to be a dragon.

So those are the five characters I find myself defending a lot, if only to myself. Which character do you defend with every fibre of  your being? Let me know!

Keep Reading

Jaz

 

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Characters You Defend

Leave a Reply

