My Bookish Influences

My Bookish Influences

All the characters I come across – whether in books, film or television – shape my life and who I am. I have been most strongly influenced by characters who love to read; they encourage me to do what I love with confidence.

bookishbelle

My first experience with a truly bookish character was Belle from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. She has been there for as long I can remember, teaching me that it’s okay to be different and walk around with my nose stuck in a book. She taught me to dream of fantasy and adventure, and that it’s okay to read and re-read your favourite books.

bookishmatilda

Matilda (from both Roald Dahl’s book and the awesome movie adaptation) taught me about the power of the library. Pocket money not keeping up with your reading speed? Go to the library. Can’t get a lift to a descent book store? Go to the library. Is it raining during morning break? Go to the school library. The combination of school, local, and mobile libraries meant that I never had a reason to be without a book. Matilda’s use of the library and ever present book encouraged me to act the same.

bookishrory

I discovered Gilmore Girls when I was about fourteen. Rory’s bookishness goes far beyond normal levels and encouraged me to do the same. She taught me that’s it’s okay to plug in your headphones and read through lunch, that having three books in your bag is absolutely fine (different books for different moods), and that every story you read is an adventure you’ve experienced. She also encouraged me academically; if I was feeling unmotivated I would watch some Gilmore Girls and get my backside in gear.

bookishhermione

Hermione Granger, from J.K.Rowling’s Harry Potter, has had the largest effect on me by far. While the books influenced me greatly, it is the fanfiction that really affected me. I have read countless stories about Hermione, she has been a constant in my life for over a decade. I have seen so many different versions of her but they have all loved books and they have all stuck with me.

Which bookish character has influenced your life the most?

Keep Reading

Jaz

Leave a Reply

