Book Review: Moranifesto by Caitlin Moran

Book Review: Moranifesto by Caitlin Moran

I have had the best time listening to Moranifesto. This book by Caitlin Moran is comprised of loads of her columns from the past few years. It covers a huge range of topics, to name a few: feminism, politics, the working classes, periods, and Benedict Cumberbatch. It was my book club’s pick of the month and I am so glad we chose it. (You can check out the club’s Facebook page, S.P.E.W., here.)

moranifesto

This novel is split into four parts with overarching themes and then split into a subjects and individual articles. Personally, I love this in a book; it gives you a real sense of accomplishment as you read. Even in audiobook form you get a good sense of one subject drawing to a close.

Some of the topics discussed in this book are serious and harrowing whilst others are light and whimsical (An afternoon with Benedict? That sounds lovely). Despite the various levels of severity, the book reads really smoothly, she doesn’t try to make light of anything serious and I really appreciated that. There is a very strong political theme throughout the book (hence the name Moranifesto) and it encourages you to think seriously about why you vote for the people you do. I found this book enlightening, learning and thinking the whole way through.

I chose to use the audiobook format for reading this novel for two reasons: 1) I had no real money left but did have an Audible credit and 2) I normally enjoy listening to non-fiction like this when it’s read by the author. I only realised after I had bought the book that it is not read by Caitlin Moran, it’s read by Joanna Neary. This bothered me for about 15 minutes before Neary morphed into Moran in my mind. She read this book perfectly; perfect accent, perfect emphasis, perfect narration. I was very impressed. She really captured the enormous range of emotions this book uses and provokes.

Overall, I had a cracking time with Caitlin Moran and am looking forward to reading some more of her non-fiction (I loved her novel How To Build A Girl). I gave Moranifesto 5/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Moranifesto by Caitlin Moran

Leave a Reply

