NYT: By The Book Tag

NYT: By The Book Tag

This tag was created by Marie Berg over on YouTube after she read By The Book, a book released by the New York Times featuring interviews with lots of authors. She chose the best of the questions and created this tag. You can watch her original video here.

by-the-book-cover

NYT: By The Book Tag

1. What book is on your nightstand right now?

By ‘nightstand’, I’m assuming it means ‘the floor on your side of the bed’. I should really get a bedside table. Currently, it’s Winter by Marissa Meyer, the fourth and final book in The Lunar Chronicles. It’s ace.

2. What was the last truly great book that you read?

I have recently read a slew of 5 star books, so picking the last ‘truly great’ one was difficult. I have decided to go with The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. This book made me laugh, cry, and everything in between all the while filling me with a great sense of history. It will stay with me for a long time.

3. If you could meet any writer – dead or alive -who would it be? And what would you want to know?

My immediate thought for this question was J.K.Rowling. I don’t think I could handle that though, to me she is god-like and should not be disturbed. Anything I asked her could have a devastating impact on my vision of the wizarding world. Instead, I have narrowed it down to three people. 1) Neil Gaiman – I would ask him how he manages to take ordinary places and make them extraordinary. 2) Rainbow Rowell – I want to know her process for creating and developing characters, she is a master at this. 3) Carrie Hope Fletcher – I just want to go for a cup of tea and a piece of cake with her, she’s my creative inspiration and I’d just like to chat away the afternoon with her.

4. What books might we be surprised to find on your shelves?

Although I predominately read fantasy, I get around most genres. I guess the most surprising things on my shelf are the couple of non-fiction books centering on serial killers. Or the large number of children’s illustrated editions.

5. How do you organise your personal library?

Alphabetically by author, each author is arranged alphabetically or by series reading order. I have a top shelf for my over sized special editions and I have 4 sets of Harry Potter so they are slotted in at aesthetically pleasing intervals (only one set is in the R section).

6. What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet? Anything you feel embarrassed never to have read?

Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. I adore the musical – I actually got to see it live last December – and have watched the film and concerts multiple times. I bought the book years and years ago but never got around to reading it. It’s currently in a dusty box at my mum’s house.

7. Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t? Do you remember the last book you put down without finishing?

I felt like everyone was supposed to like City of Bones by Cassandra Clare but it just didn’t even begin to live up to the hype for me. The last book I stopped reading part way through was Throne Of Glass by Sarah J. Maas –  another YA series that just fell phenomenally short of the hype.

8. What kinds of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I like stories of adventure and magical education, stories about dragons and travelling through distant lands, stories about stories. I don’t do straight up romance; why would you settle for something ordinary when you can have love AND dragons?

9. If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. Even the President needs whimsy and the ridiculous.

10. What do you plan to read next?

I read one book and listen to an audiobook at the same time (not together though). After I finish Winter, I plan on reading Terry Pratchett’s Jingo (book four in the City Watch Collection). After I finish listening to Moranifesto, Caitlin Moran’s new book, I’m going to try The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North. I’m really excited to read both of these.

I hope you enjoyed the NYT: By The Book Tag. I tag all of you to take a crack at this. Let me know what book you would require the President to read in the comments!

Keep Reading

Jaz

Leave a Reply

