Unforgivable Curses

Unforgivable Curses

Harry Potter is always on my mind. Today is the eighteenth anniversary of the Battle of Hogwarts and I want to talk about Unforgivable Curses. We remember learning about the Unforgivables in our fourth year at Hogwarts. I was horrified when the supposed Professor Moody demonstrated the uses of each on poor, unsuspecting spiders. While I firmly believe that there is no such thing as an innocent spider (find out exactly how I feel here), I don’t think any creature deserves to be treated like that.

 battleofhogwarts

The Unforgivable Curses were named for a reason, imagine having the power to remove free will, cause maddening pain, or extinguish a life with the wave of a wand. It’s horrifying. During Harry Potter, these curses are predominately used by Death Eaters and He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named. We expect this, these people are ‘evil’ and we expect them to do evil things. What bothers me is that they are not the only ones that use the Unforgivable Curses. Harry uses crucio multiple times and uses imperio on a Gringotts goblin. I don’t think that this is okay at all. I was even more shocked when McGonagall (to my mind, the embodiment of Lawful Good) uses the Imperius Curse on Amycus Carrow. I don’t think using illegal spells is excusable under any circumstances, war or no.

Dumbledore says: “Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”

I think that using the Unforgivables falls in the ‘easy’ category.

Using these spells is not unlike muggles using hollow-point bullets, cluster bombs, gas weapons, and torture in warfare. These spells are inhumane and violating. I’m calling avada kedavra inhumane, despite it killing instantly and painlessly, because it can’t be blocked. You can’t stop it.

What do you think about Harry’s use of the Unforgivables?

Jaz

One thought on “Unforgivable Curses

  1. The spider stuff was a bit much and I was with Hermione on that point. But as for using the spells during the war, I wasn’t all too upset about them. I even cheered about the duel scene with Molly Weasley vs Bellatrix Lestrange. Although it could be that I was in the Navy during the time, so my own personal military experience could have effected those thoughts.

Leave a Reply

