The Time & Place Book Tag

The Time & Place Book Tag

When I saw this tag, I just had to do it. The Time & Place Book Tag was created by Jen Campbell (you can watch the original video here) and this is how it goes: Pick ten books that remind you of a specific time and place and tell us about it. I think this is a fantastic tag because I associate so much with the books I read.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K.Rowling

orderoftheohoenix

All the Harry Potter books have special meaning to me but this was the first one I read on the day of publication. June 21st 2003, I was 11 and it was my school’s Sports Day. I was really annoyed at the bad timing because it meant I had hardly anytime to read between events.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

p&p

I can’t remember the first time I read this novel, what I do remember is feeling a desperate need to read it whilst I was sat by the pool at our hotel in Ventura, California when I was 17. I found the nearest second hand book shop and managed to find a copy for $2. Reading this story in the sun is perfect. Now, whenever I go anywhere sunny I make sure to bring a copy.

The Hunger Games  by Suzanne Collins

hungergames

I borrowed my sister’s kindle to read this book when we were at Yosemite. We had waded through a river to a huge rock and stayed there all day, reading. I can’t remember what she was reading but I felt like I was in the arena with Katniss. I have never been in such a perfect place to read a book, I was surrounded by gorgeous forest, the atmosphere was amazing.

Empire in Black and Gold by Adrian Tchaikovsky

blackandgold

This book always reminds me of the summer after my first year at uni, my boyfriend and I were working for PGL as outdoor educators. It wasn’t reading the book though, he was. I didn’t read it for another two summers, something I later regretted.

The 13 1/2 Live of Captain Bluebear

Bluebear

This book was recommended to me by my other half, he read the book after having his appendix out. I read it over a week of lunch breaks at work, I’d sit in the Beer Garden and ignore everyone else completely. It was bliss.

Secrets by Jacqueline Wilson

secrets

I bought this book in hardcover when I was 11. It stars India and Treasure in an Anne Frank inspired story where the rich and poor collide. I devoured it. I then went to the library, took out as many Jacqueline Wilson books as I could carry, made myself a reading den on the upstairs landing and read them one after another. I think that it must have been during the school holidays.

The Thirty-Nine Steps by John Buchan

39steps

I had to read this book in year seven at school, we read it as a class which made it feel long and boring. I later decided to read it again before writing an assignment, I read the whole thing sat in the car in an ASDA car park. I’d decided to skip the weekly shop and read instead. It’s very short but a fantastic and exciting read.

Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

senseandsensibility

This was my first Austen, I watched the ITV film and decided to read it. I was 14 and struggled with it a little, I read it mainly during morning registration at school and my form tutor helped me out when I didn’t know what something meant, I particularly remember learning the word ‘unequivocal’.

The Monster Book Of Horrible Horrors by Piquemal, Haswell and Paul

monsterbook

This is the book of my childhood, my dad used to read it to us all the time. I particularly associate it with the time my dad read it in assembly at my primary school. It was awesome.

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

artemisfowl1

This is the first book I stayed up all night reading. It was two days before my thirteenth birthday and we were at Centre Parks, I bought it from the small bookshop there and having my own room in the cabin meant that the light wasn’t bothering anyone. I got the next two books for my birthday and was thrilled.

So that’s the Time & Place Book Tag! I hope you enjoyed it. I tag anyone who wants to take part! If you do, post a link to yours in the comments.

Keep Reading

Jaz

Leave a Reply

