Top 5 Wednesday: Mothers

Top 5 Wednesday: Mothers

This week’s topic for Top 5 Wednesday, a group hosted over on Goodreads, is Favourite Mothers / Maternal Figures. My mum is one of my favourite people, she is truly fantastic but some of these maternal figures are not. Today I am going to list the mothers I have most enjoyed reading about.

top5

5. Anya from Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah

wintergarden

Although not a great mum to her two grown up children, when Anya finally opens up you realise that she used every once of her maternal instinct before they were even born. It’s a completely heart breaking story and one I really enjoyed reading.

4. Granny Weatherwax from Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett

granny_weatherwax

Granny Weatherwax has no children but is a mother to all. A stern, strict, witch of a mother. She is unyielding and set in her ways, can intimidate anyone and I love her. She is fantastic to read about and I want to be her when I grow up.

3. Narcissa Malfoy from Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling

narcissa

Although on the dark side, I love Narcissa Malfoy. She may be a stuck up prude but everything she does is for her family. She lies to the Dark Lord’s face because she knows that the only way to reach her son is by entering the castle as part of the conquering force. She is bad ass and brave. Think how much more annoying Draco could have been without her.

2. Mrs. Bennet from Pride and Prejudice by Jane  Austen

mrsbennet

Mrs. Bennet is possibly the most annoying person in the history of literature. I love reading about how everyone around her reacts to her gaudy and abrasive personality. I especially love how Mr. Bennet runs circles around his wife without her even noticing. What a character!

1. Molly Weasley from Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling

julie-walters-molly-weasley

It will come as no surprise that Molly Weasley is my favourite mum. She will do anything for her kids and acts as the maternal figure Harry desperately needs. I especially love her when she’s screaming her head off at Fred and George.

Who’s your favourite mum?

Keep Reading

Jaz

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Mothers

  1. I think Mrs. Weasley is my favourite book mom too. She’s so caring and protective. And finding out her bogart was one of my favourite scenes in all of the books. Although I’m not familiar with some of the first two characters you mentioned, so I’ll have to explore those.

    As an aside, my all-time favourite fictional mom is Lorelai Gilmore because she reminds me so much of my own Mom. 🙂

Leave a Reply

