Wrap Up: Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

Wrap Up: Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon

I’ve just finished taking part in the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon and I had an absolute blast! I devoted a full day to just reading and it was sheer bliss, it was great to know that loads of other people were doing the same thing!

I prepared my TBR in advance:

24tbr

I was already part way through Cress and about 5 hours into the audiobook of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, desperate to get cracking with a new Terry Pratchett novel and hankering for a re-read of Carry On. It was an exciting TBR and meant that I was super pumped to get started.

My 24 hours started at 2pm on Saturday 23rd April and I got off to a flying start. Cress captivated me, I felt so involved with the story that the time just flew. It took me about 6 solid hours of reading (I have a slow reading speed, I basically say the words in my head) to finish Cress and I enjoyed every minute of it.

instacress

When I couldn’t physically read, I was listening to my audiobook of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Overall, I listened to about 3 hours of this awesome story.

instapotter

After finishing Cress, I moved on to Equal Rites, the first book in The Witches Collection by Terry Pratchett. I firmly maintain that Discworld novels are best read in one sitting and this was no exception. I was pulled in immediately by the witty and creative style Pratchett never fails to produce and followed Esk and Granny Weatherwax on an adventure of equality and magic. Overall, it took me about 5 hours to read this 240 page novel.

instaequalrites

My next call was Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. I read this book as soon as it was released last year but couldn’t resist reading it again. I was right to do so, it’s amazing how much you miss in a first reading! I picked up on so much more this time round. It was fabulous fun and took me about 6 hours to read, I positively flew through all 517 pages (possibly a personal best for me).

instacarryon

And I managed to squeeze some sleep in too …

THE STATISTICS

Hours Spent Reading: 20

Pages Read: 1129 (& 3 hours of audiobook listening)

Hours Spent Napping: 4

Overall, not bad! I’m pretty impressed with myself right now. Did anyone else take part in this readathon? Let me know how you did in the comments!

Keep Reading

Jaz

Leave a Reply

