Top 5 Wednesdays: Rainy Day Reads

Top 5 Wednesdays: Rainy Day Reads

Top 5 Wednesdays is a Goodreads Group for book bloggers, every week there is a new topic. This week’s is Rainy Day Reads. From this, I will be suggesting books that are great to curl up and read in one sitting.

5. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Aristotle_and_Dante_Discover_the_Secrets_of_the_Universe_cover

This is a great coming of age story featuring best friends that are polar opposites. Though sad in places, overall it is a feel good story that you can fly through. It is fast-paced and interesting. I started reading it before bed one night, intending to read a couple of chapters. Next thing I knew, it was 3 AM and I had finished it. Fantastic book.

4. Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

attachments-cover

Any Rainbow Rowell novel would be perfect for this list but I have picked Attachments because the format makes it incredibly easy to read. Lincoln is a nerd; he plays D&D, is a computer whiz and is oblivious to female attention. He finds himself in charge of monitoring email in the workplace and accidentally falls in love. It’s a fun read told in a series of emails and Lincoln’s inner monologue. Perfect for when you’re curled on the couch.

3. All My Friends Are Superheroes by Andrew Kaufman

allmyfriendsaresuperheroes

All Tom’s friends are superheroes. All of them. This book contains a huge range of ridiculous superheroes and follows Tom as he struggles to make himself visible to his wife. Weighing in at 120 pages, this novel is witty and hilarious with loads of fantastic illustrations. Perfect for when the weather is getting you down.

2. The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K.Rowling

beedlethebard

A companion book to the Harry Potter series, this is a collection of wizarding children’s stories. They are wonderfully imaginative with morals and lessons aplenty. I love reading this book and often imagine what it would have been like growing up with these stories instead of Cinderella and Rumpelstiltskin.  A wonderful read and completely magical.

1. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland Lewis Carroll

alice

This is very possibly my all time favourite book and just happens to be the perfect length to read in one go. I’m sure you all know the story, but have you ever read the book? If not, I really recommend you do. Next time you’re trapped indoors on a stormy afternoon, pick up this story and fall into Wonderland.

What’s your favourite book to read on a rainy day?

I’ve recently become active on Instagram so click here if you want more bookish goodness from me.

Keep Reading

Jaz

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays: Rainy Day Reads

  1. I love Attachments! And I agree, it’s perfect for a rainy day. Lincoln makes me chuckle so muchhhh. I like your words on All My Friends Are Superheroes….I had never heard of that book but now I want to give it a try 🙂

Leave a Reply

