Reading Wrap Up: March

Reading Wrap Up: March

I’m aiming to read 100 books in 2016. The fifteen books I read in March has put me up to 38/100, leaving me 13 books ahead of schedule. I’m pleased with my progress so far. Here’s what I read this month:

bitchplanet

Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine DeLandro. This is and excellent graphic novel featuring an off-world women’s prisoner. An excellent read, I gave it 4/5 stars.

kindredspirits

Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell. This is a short story that was released for World Book Day 2016. It’s about a teenage girl who decides it would be a great idea to camp out in the queue for Star Wars: The Force Awakens. It was a wonderful little book and I enjoyed it immensely (as I have all of Rainbow Rowell’s books). I gave it 5/5 stars.

lumberjanes

Lumberjanes, Vol.1: Beware The Kitten Holy by Noelle Stevenson. Another graphic novel, this one features a group of misbehaving girl scouts. They are always getting into trouble with the supernatural. I loved it and bought the second one immediately. I gave it a well-deserved 5/5 stars.

feetofclayFeet of Clay by Terry Pratchett. This is the third book in the fantastic City Watch Collection, I have loved every book in this series so far, Pratchett has a phenomenal sense of humour and I often find myself laughing out loud at his prose. I gave it 4/5 stars.

Cinder_book_coverCinder by Marissa Meyer. This is a fairy tale retelling and the first book in The Lunar ChroniclesIt is a science fiction version of Cinderella, I was skeptical before I read it as I couldn’t understand how cyborgs and Cinderella fit together. I was happily surprised. It meshes perfectly. It was a great story and I flew through it, I’m currently reading the second book. I gave it 5/5 stars and you can read my full review here.

lumber2Lumberjanes, Vol. 2: Friendship to the Max by Noelle Stevenson. This is the second volume in the series and just as great as the first. I gave it 5/5 stars.

Saga_vol2-1Saga, Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples. This is the second installment in the popular series and I think I enjoyed it more than the first. The odd cross between romance, violence and humour is great. I gave it 5/5 stars.

itskindofafunnystoryIt’s Kind Of A Funny Story by Ned Vizzini. This is book I got in a ‘Blind Date‘ situation. I was very happy when I saw the book and enjoyed reading it. It talks a lot about growing up and mental health in a humorous way and I found it really interesting.I gave it 4/5 stars.

ratqueens

Rat Queens, Volume One: Sass and Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch. This is very possibly the best graphic novel I have ever read. It follows an all-girl, D&D-style adventuring party. It is wonderfully gory, lewd and entertaining. It was an epic read and I gave it 5/5 stars.

persuasionPersuasion by Jane Austen. I’ve had this book for absolutely ages and was the only Austen novel that I hadn’t got around to reading yet. While I enjoyed the novel, it is certainly not my favourite of her books and I gave it 3/5 stars.

hitchhikerThe Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy by Douglas Adams. I have read this book many times but this was my first time listening to it on audiobook. Stephen Fry did an excellent job bringing it to life. I gave it 4/5 stars.

weirdYou’re Never Weird On The Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day. This is Felicia’s memoir and another book I listened to. The audiobook was fantastic, you can read my full review here. I gave it 5/5 stars.

morningglories Morning Glories, Volume One by Nick Spencer. This is a graphic novel set in a very peculiar school, I think it’s some kind of agent training facility. I wasn’t very keen on this one, I didn’t really like the art style and found the story telling jittery. I definitely won’t be reading the next one. I gave 2/5 stars.


otpHarry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix 
by J.K.Rowling. I have obviously read this book many times before but this was my first time listening to the audiobook read by the wonderful Stephen Fry. I enjoyed myself tremendously, my only complaint would be the accent he read for Tonks, I found it too funny to take seriously. I gave it 5/5 stars.

mort

Mort by Terry Pratchett. This is my fourth Terry Pratchett book of the year and the first in The Death Collection. It is a great tale of Death’s apprentice and the very fabric of time. I enjoyed it and gave it 3/5 stars.

So there you have it! All the books I read in March 2016. What did you read last month?

Keep Reading

Jaz

One thought on “Reading Wrap Up: March

Leave a Reply

