My Graphic Novels

My Graphic Novels

I picked up my first graphic novel last October (only five months ago) and have become slightly addicted to them. I found a copy of Nimona by Noelle Stevenson in Waterstones when I was out shopping with my mum and nanna. I thought it looked really cool and went to buy it; my nanna then did that cool thing that grandparents tend to do, she appeared at the till and insisted on buying it for me instead (although I made sure the points were put on my loyalty card). 

It wasn’t till a few days later that I picked it up to read, I devoured it on the bus ride to my grandparents house. I loved the art and became completely engrossed in the story. Since then I have bought (and read) quite a few of the things.

graphicnovels

These are the graphic novels I have bought since then and I am going to talk about my top five favourite series.

bitchplanet5. Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine DeLandro is a fantastic graphic novel about a women’s prison located off-world. It is misogynistic society and women who do not conform to this patriarchal world are arrested and imprisoned. A group of ‘non-conformists’ in the prison have been selected to participate in a sporting tournament in order to boost the ratings of the televised event. So far there is only one volume available and as soon as the next one comes out I will be buying it.  4/5 stars.

saga 4. Saga Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples is a very popular series and one that I am enjoying. A hybrid child narrates the story, telling us about how her parents (members of two warring species) fell in love, ran off and started a family. The couple faces many perils as they escape their home worlds, being hunted as they do so. The comic shows us lots of perspectives, providing a well rounded reading experience and excellent storytelling. So far, I have read the first two volumes and hope to read the next one in the coming month. 5/5 stars.

giantdays 3. Giant Days by John Allison, Lissa Treiman and Whitney Cogar is a contemporary story about a group of girls in their first year of uni. It’s a great read because it is so easy to relate to and the art is amazing. I loved the first volume and was absolutely gutted when I found out that the next volume wasn’t out yet. The second volume comes out next month and I can’t wait to buy it. 5/5 stars.

lumberjanes 2. Lumberjanes by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters and Brooke Allen is a series about a group of girls at summer camp. For some mysterious reason, supernatural and magical occurrences are drawn to the camp. This series is action-packed, exciting and has a great cast of characters. I found it to be really inclusive and diverse. I have read the first two volumes and am about to buy the newly released third installment. 5/5 stars.

ratqueens1. Rat Queens by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch is a brilliant graphic novel about an all-girl, D&D-style adventuring party. It is freaking fantastic! It is gory, exciting, interesting and funny. Candy and drugs is a totally acceptable meal and won’t effect your fighting skills whatsoever, right? It is terrific and an excellent representation of a typical pen and paper RPG. Reading the first volume made me feel like it was written especially for me. I’m buying the next two volumes this month and cannot friggin’ wait. 5/5 stars, obviously.

What are your favourite graphic novels? I’m always looking for more!

Keep Reading

Jaz

2 thoughts on “My Graphic Novels

  1. You’re reading some great stuff there, I’d also suggest Amulet, Princeless, Batgirl of Burnside, The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl there are loads of great books out right now, and a there are decades of classic books to read! Keep it up!

  2. Wow! Those look so cool! I’ve only read Nimona and Lumberjanes but i love them! I totally need to read some more, i’ll take some of yours as reference :3

Leave a Reply

