Book Review: You’re Never Weird On The Internet (Almost)

Book Review: You’re Never Weird On The Internet (Almost)

It is very rare that I pick up a memoir, but after binge watching The Guild on YouTube I just had to get a copy of Felicia Day’s: You’re Never Weird On The Internet (Almost). I decided to go for the audiobook as I had a credit left on Audible and I knew the book was narrated by Felicia. I am so glad I did!

weird

The memoir has a Foreword written and read by Joss Whedon (creator of both Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Firefly among other awesome things) and I had a serious fangirl moment when he started speaking. His introduction is pithy and articulate, it sets the memoir up brilliantly by giving you a few small insights into Felicia Day’s personality.

In this book, Felicia talks about everything in her life so far. We hear lots about her unconventional, home-schooled childhood and her eccentric mother; her accomplishments on the violin; her crazy math abilities; her OCD qualities when it comes to collecting; and her addiction to RPG-style video games. She spares no detail and hides no secrets. It is fantastic.

The book continues in a reasonably chronological fashion with a couple of detours on the way. She talks college and growing up before finally talking about her career and how she got to where she is today. She discusses everything from her World of Warcraft addiction to her mental health struggles. She bares all and I respect her for it.

If you can, I would strongly recommend that you experience this memoir in audiobook format. Felicia brings her word to life in a way no one else can, she conveys her emotions beautifully through tone and tempo. She also does hilarious impressions of her family members and her younger self; you do not want to miss out on the occasional singing and theatrical screams. The book includes photographs and illustrations which all come with the audiobook in a PDF, Felicia refers you to these when necessary so you will not miss a thing.

After listening to You’re Never Weird On The Internet (Almost), I feel like I have really connected with Felicia as a person; she may not know me but, thanks to this book, I now know her. The story put me through an emotional wringer and I feel like I have learnt so much about so many things. (It has also made me itch to play Dungeons & Dragons Online.) Overall, I gave this fantastic memoir 5/5 stars and, if there is a single geeky bone in your body, I recommend you pick it up immediately. (You should also watch The Guild, just sayin’.)

Keep Reading

Jaz

Leave a Reply

