Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Didn’t Finish

Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Didn’t Finish

Another Wednesday, another topic. This week’s theme fresh from Goodreads is Books I Didn’t Finish. If I’m finding a book boring, I’m generally happy to toss it aside and start something new. It doesn’t happen very often but life is too short to read boring books. A few unfinished books, however, have left me feeling rather embarrassed. I have decided to list those books today, in order of shamefulness.

top5

5. Throne Of Glass by Sarah J. Maas … I have heard such amazing things about this series and I was determined to enjoy it. Unfortunately, I wanted to strangle the main character within a few pages and, after three chapters, put it back on my bookshelf to never be opened again. I’m a little annoyed at myself for not persevering with it. Frowny face.

Throne_of_Glass_UK

4. Vox by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell … This is the sixth book in the Edge Chronicles series, a wacky middle-grade fantasy series. I had practically devoured all the previous books in the series but, half-way through this one, the pace slowed to a crawl and I eventually stopped reading it. I tried to hide this fact, I was a kid and it was the first book I had ever not finished. I was so embarrassed.

vox

3. Fight Club by Chuck Palahnuik … This one is a little shameful because I loved the film and the book just wasn’t living up to my expectations. I recently learnt that even the author thinks the film is better so I feel at least a little justified now. Another reason I find not finishing Fight Club embarrassing is that I love Chuck Palahniuk’s writing and enjoyed loads of his other work. Not finishing makes me feel like I can’t be a real ‘fan’.

fightclub

2. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens … We had to read this for English Lit in Year 10 so that we could write any essay about the first ten chapters. I am particularly ashamed of this one because, not only did I not finish it, I didn’t even finish the first ten chapters! I got to chapter eight, gave up, and bluffed the essay. So much shame. I got a B, if anyone’s interested.

greatexpectations

1. The Casual Vacancy by J.K.Rowling … I just couldn’t do it. It was boring. And the thought of this fills me with a deep and painful shame. I am a massive PotterHead, I should be devouring every single word the falls from Rowling’s pen. Right? I guess it just means that I am first and foremost a Harry Potter fan and not necessarily a Rowling fan. Typing that last sentence felt like sacrilege.

The-Casual-Vacancy

So there we are, my shame out in the open for everyone to read. Are there any books you are ashamed to say you did not finish? Please let me know, make me feel better about myself.

Keep Reading

Jaz

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Didn’t Finish

Leave a Reply

