Bookish Academy Awards

Bookish Academy Awards

With the Oscars happening recently (not very recently, but still) I have decided to do the Bookish Academy Awards. I will be using books I have read in the past year or so and will try to only use each book once.

oscars

BEST ACTOR (BEST MALE PROTAGONIST):

For this I definitely have to go with Mark Watney from Andy Weir’s The Martian. I loved reading from his perspective; despite his awful situation he still manages to maintain his excellent humour. I can’t remember ever laughing so much when reading. I really felt that I was right there with him, on the surface of Mars.

BEST ACTRESS (BET FEMALE PROTAGONIST): 

Liesel Meminger from Mark Zusak’s The Book Thief is far and away the best female protagonist I have read about in the past year. She is an interesting, brave, and daring little girl. She has had such a hard life, and yet she still manages to be cheerful, mischievous and curious. I love the way her interest in books slowly develops with every one she takes and this interest soon turns into political interest as well. Seeing her interact with a multitude of different people was incredibly interesting, she made a fabulous protagonist.

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY (BEST PLOT TWIST):

For this I have chosen Bad Monkeys by Matt Ruff, I don’t want to say too much about the plot. All I will say, is that I was taken completely by surprise over and over again. For such a short book, it is packed with twists, turns and punches to the gut.

BEST COSTUME DESIGN (BEST BOOK COVER): 

This is one was easy. The UK cover of Uprooted by Naomi Novik is stunning.

uprooted

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR AND ACTRESS (BEST SUPPORTING SIDE CHARACTERS):

My favourite male side character is definitely Thalric from the Shadows of the Apt series. He is such an excellent character, complex and confusing as well as bitingly funny. He is everything I could want in a side character. My favourite female side character is Auri from the Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss. She is such a strange girl and completely at odds with the world around her.

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY (MOST UNIQUE PLOT/WORLD):

I’m going to have to go with the entirety of The Magicians series. I realise that this series basically rips off The Chronicles of Narnia but it is done so masterfully and with so many other unique places and settings. It has a school of magic, a mystical land, and an antarctic holiday destination. It is truly fabulous.

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE (A BOOK THAT WOULD WORK WELL AS AN ANIMATED FEATURE):

 This has definitely got to be Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer. This book would translate so well into an animated feature and I would absolutely go an watch it. The action would be great and I would love to see the Lower Elements brought to life.

BEST DIRECTOR (A WRITER YOU HAVE DISCOVERED FOR THE FIRST TIME):

This year I picked up my first Rainbow Rowell book, and then proceeded to read all of them. I enjoyed all of her books and will continue to read them as fast as she can write them.

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS (BEST ACTION):

I’m going to go for a graphic novel for this one. Rat Queens by Kurtis J. Wiebe and Roc Upchurch is an exciting and adventurous story featuring an all-girl DnD-style adventuring party. It is jam packed with action and is particularly gruesome in some places. It is fabulous.

BEST SHORT FILM (BEST NOVELLA OR SHORT STORY): 

I’m going to go with Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell, it’s a short story she wrote for World Book Day about a hard-core Star Wars fangirl who camps-out outside a cinema before seeing The Force Awakens. Unfortunately there are only 2 other people who have decided to do the same thing. I loved this story and practically devoured it.

BEST PICTURE (BEST STAND ALONE NOVEL):

This is a difficult one but I have decided to go with Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. I found this novel completely engrossing and I was incredibly satisfied when I finished it. It is a wonderfully individual book that keeps you hooked the whole way through.

BEST DOCUMENTARY (BEST HISTORICAL FICTION OR NON-FICTION):

My mum recommended Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah to me and I was slightly skeptical  at first but she gave me a copy and I devoured it in two sittings. The story switches between modern day and WWII Russia. It was an incredible read it completely broke me. I found reading about the civilians during the Siege of Leningrad fascinating and it felt like I was struggling along with them.

So there you have it! My award winners for the last year. I hope you enjoyed. Pick an award and let me know who you think should win in the comments, I would love to know.

Keep Reading

Jaz

4 thoughts on “Bookish Academy Awards

  1. Thank you. I absolutely love posts like this. They’re so much fun. Ready Player One is one of my absolutely favourite books and I particularly love that it’s a stand alone in this day of trilogies. Liesel is brilliant and a wonderful choice for Best Protagonist. I love Artemis Fowl and have wanted a film version of those books for awhile. Animated might be very interesting. I love some of Rainbow Rowell’s books (Fangirl, Carry On) but not all. I started some and never finished (Eleanor and Park for one). Had the Magicians series to read for awhile now and after your post I really need to read Bad Monkeys, Kindred Spirits and the Martian.
    Off to find them! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

