Top 5 Wednesday: Biggest Book Hangovers

Top 5 Wednesday: Biggest Book Hangovers

Every week brings a new topic for Top 5 Wednesday, a group on Goodreads. This week’s is Biggest Book Hangovers. Ever read something, finish it and then not stop thinking about it? That’s a book hangover. It often means you can’t possibly read another book so soon after finishing something so earth-shatteringly immersive. Personally, I both love and hate book hangovers. Here are the top 5 books that ruined me:

top5

5. Winter Garden by Kristin Hannah. This is a story set in both modern day America and WWII Russia. I found it incredibly realistic and the ending wrecked me. It felt like having my emotions smacked with a bulldozer.

4. Uprooted by Naomi Novik. This is a fairy tale style fantasy and a stand alone novel. When I finished it all I wanted was more story, I wanted to follow the characters as they got on with everyday life.

3. The Martian by Andy Weir. When I finished this science fiction novel, I remember feeling that it couldn’t possibly be the end. The story effected me deeply and I spent the next few days thinking about what it would be like to be entirely alone for over a year. I also watched the film the day after finishing and spent most of it thinking/saying ‘Why did they skip that bit of the book?’

2. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. This is a companion novel to Fangirl and is a supposed to be the eighth book in a Harry Potter-esque series. The world was so immersive and the characters so realistic that I just wanted stay in that world. I read it twice in a row and it was a while before I could read anything else.

1. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K.Rowling. This one seems obvious, but it was truly my biggest book hangover. I got it at midnight on release day, read it, went to sleep, woke up, and read it again. I then started from The Philosopher’s Stone and didn’t stop until I’d finished the series again. After that, I didn’t read another book for about 2 years, all I was reading was Harry Potter fanfiction. I was not at all interested in anything that wasn’t set in that world. I now try not to read any fanfiction, I’m worried I’ll get stuck there and not be able to read books anymore.

What is your biggest book hangover?

Keep Reading

Jaz

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Biggest Book Hangovers

Leave a Reply

