February Wrap Up

February Wrap Up

February was a pretty good reading month for me, I managed to read ten books and am half way through my eleventh (Feet of Clay by Terry Pratchett).

 landlineThe first book I finished was Landline by Rainbow Rowell. This is an adult contemporary novel set around Christmas time and we follow Georgie McCool as she tries to save her marriage using a telephone that can call the past. I loved the magical realism in this novel and absolutely flew through it. You can always rely on Rainbow Rowell for an excellent read. I gave it 4/5 stars.

readingdangerouslyThe Year of Reading Dangerously by Andy Miller is an account of the year he spent reading 50 ‘great’ books. He tells us all about his experiences whilst reading them and how they influenced his life. This book was very entertaining, the writing is funny and the footnotes really add to the reading experience. I thoroughly enjoyed it and found myself inspired to read more. I gave it 4/5 stars.

MissPPeculiarChildren I read Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs for my book club. It is a fantasy/horror that follows Jacob as he travels from Florida to Wales to uncover the mystery behind his grandfather’s death. I really enjoyed the story line of this novel but felt that the old photographs used to illustrate it really detracted from the reading experience. You can read my full review here. I gave it 3/5 stars.

bookthiefThe next book I finished was The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak and it was by far my may favourite book of the month. The story is told from the perspective of Death, a funny and charismatic narrator, as he tells us about the life of Liesel Meminger. It is set during WWII and covers a lot of difficult themes from a German perspective. I listened to the audiobook version, read by Allan Corduner, and enjoyed it immensely. He made me laugh and he made me cry. I gave it 5/5 stars.

lostcontinentNext, I went for another non-fiction read, The Lost Continent: Travels in Small Town America by Bill Bryson. In this travel novel, Bryson takes you with him on a trip around the back roads and small towns in The United States. I found it to be very interesting, I really had no idea about life in towns like that. It did, however, get a little repetitive and I’m not sure if I’ll be picking up any more of his books. I gave it 3/5 stars.

curiosI then read Curio by Evangeline Denmark as it was sent to me for free for an honest review. It is a fantasy/steampunk YA novel that follows Grey as she is thrust from one world into another. I found the two worlds very interesting but felt that the story was lacking in a few areas, very little explanation was given early on which resulted in a slightly confusing read. I gave it 3/5 stars.

desiresDesires of the Dead by Kimberly Derting is the second book in the Body Finder series, I read the first one about a year ago. It is YA thriller that follows Violet, a high school student who can sense the dead when they are not at peace. Most of her life, this has meant that she finds dead animals. Everything changes when she discovers the body of a teen aged girl. I found this novel a very addicting and fun read, I blasted through it and plan to read the next one. I gave it 3/5 stars.

bluelilyBlue Lily, Lily Blue is the third book in the Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. It is a YA fantasy series set in a small Virginian town. An unlikely set of friends are trying to find the sleeping Welsh King, Glendower, in order to earn his favour. I have loved this series so far, it is fun, exciting and, at times, a little scary. I cannot wait for the next installment, The Raven King, to be released this April. I gave it 4/5 stars.

poa

Lastly, I listened to a couple of the Harry Potter books on audiobook read by the brilliant Stephen Fry. I listened to Prisoner of Azkaban and Goblet of Fire. If any one is looking for a different way to experience this wonderful series I would strongly recommend giving the audiobooks a try. I’m now listening to Order of the Phoenix and thoroughly enjoying myself. I gave them both 5/5 stars. Obviously.

So there you have it! My month in books. Let me know what you’ve been reading this month, I would love to hear from you.

Keep Reading

Jaz

Leave a Reply

