The Ultimate Book Tag

The Ultimate Book Tag

The Ultimate Book Tag was invented by the girls at Chapter Chicks over on YouTube. It looks like a lot of fun and so, without further ado, here it is.

books

1. Do you get sick whilst riding in the car? I get very sick in the car and it is sometimes made worse by reading, but it sometimes makes me feel better. It depends entirely on the day. I do not get sick reading on buses or trains though.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why? Chuck Palahniuk, author of Fight Club and Lullaby, has an incredibly unique writing style. Though he is not my favourite author, his writing is unlike anything I have ever read.

3. Harry Potter series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer. Harry Potter without a doubt. I cannot stand the Twilight Saga. Reasons: a) Harry Potter is a wonderful series full of moral values and kindness. b) Harry Potter has an absolutely fantastic story line and can be read over and over. c) Twilight has sparkly vampires.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (except books) …? I carry a Star Wars satchel primarily because it fits a book. I also carry a fabric shopping bag, umbrella, diary, and wallet etc. I always pick bags that will fit a book or two.

5. Do you smell your books? Is it weird to say yes? I don’t do it all the time but I do like a good sniff every now and again.

6. Books with or without little illustrations? I’m happy without illustrations but when they are present it always brings a little extra to the reading experience.

7. What book did you enjoy reading but discovered later that it wasn’t quality writing? I always loved reading Jacqueline Wilson’s books when I was younger but now realise that her writing is definitely designed for children. Her stories were always great and easy to read.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? It’s not funny per se, but when I was younger my dad used to read us The Monster Book of Horrible Horrors. It’s a story told in verse and he used to do all the voices perfectly. He even read it in an assembly for my primary school. I still know nearly the whole thing by heart!

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf? Brother in the Land by Robert Swindells. It is the copy I was given in Year 8 at school, I loved the book so much and then may have forgotten to give it back.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf? Dangerous Women, a compilation of short stories put together by George R.R.Martin and Gardner Dozois. I have read some of it but not all.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself as being an author in the future? I do write, that’s part of the point of this blog. I should really write more though. I have lots of ideas in my brain that are dying to get out!

12. When did you get into reading? I’ve always read but I didn’t become a reading fanatic and until I started Harry Potter and then Artemis Fowl. These two series filled my childhood and started my reading addiction.

13. What is your favourite classic book? I have three favourite classic novels. The first is Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland, I love how wonderfully creative and whimsical it is. The next is Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, cliche I know, it is my favourite summer read. I have so many second hand copies I have bought on holiday, I cannot be by a swimming pool without it . I should really learn to take it with me. The last is War of the Worlds by H.G.Wells, I love this old-style take on science fiction.

14. In school, was your best subject English? No, although I was good at English I excelled in all the science subjects. I thought they were more worth my time but now I wish I had put more effort into it.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do? I would thank them and pass it on to someone I think would enjoy it.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know similar to Harry Potter and  The Hunger GamesThe Edge Chronicles by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell. This is a wonderful series filled with colourful characters and a marvelous world.

17. What is a bad habit you do (beside rambling) while filming? As I said at the start, this is a YouTube tag. This question does not currently apply to me but it will in the future and I will let you know!

18. What is your favourite word? Currently, my favourite world is ineffable – it means ‘beyond words’. My favourite word changes from week to week.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above? I prefer the term geek.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Fairies. Without a doubt. They are so enchantingly mercurial. The only vampires I can stand are those in Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Definitely Angels, they are normally witty and sarcastic which is fab.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Meh … neither.

23. Zombies or Vampires? They both terrify me, neither if I can help it!

24. Love Triangles or Forbidden Love? Definitely Forbidden Love. Love Triangles are so boring.

25. Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in? Definitely the action-packed ones, I need more from a book than a romance.

So there you have it! The Ultimate Book Tag. I hope you enjoyed reading it.

Keep Reading

Jaz

One thought on “The Ultimate Book Tag

Leave a Reply

