To Finish Or Not To Finish?

To Finish Or Not To Finish?

There are few things comparable to the pure joy of finding a new fantastic series. It fills me with excitement, knowing that I have a long list of books that I am guaranteed to enjoy. I’m always a bit tentative to begin with, I will buy the first book and give it a try. If I enjoy it, I abandon all good sense and binge buy the rest of them. If I do not like the first book, it goes back on my shelf and I forget all about it.

The real pain appears when I adore a series that has not yet been completed. Sometimes I time it well and only need to wait a couple of months for the next installment. Sometimes I have to wait years. It can be excruciating. Or I forget about it …

Today, I am going to talk about series I am currently part way through and whether or not I intend to finish them.

Rivers of London series by Ben Aaronovitch … This series follow Peter Grant as he learns how to become a magic-wielding copper. It starts as a fun, lively, and mysterious series which immediately hooked me in. It kept me hooked for four and a half books and then released me. I became incredibly bored and abandoned the series mid-book. Currently, I have no plans to continue.

The Body Finder series by Kimberly Dirting … I read the first book in this series about a year ago. It follows a girl who can sense corpses. This skill becomes crucial to solving a murder investigation in her small town. I enjoyed reading this, it took me about a day and was incredibly easy to read. The second book is actually in my February TBR and I am looking forward to reading it.

The Queen of the Tearling series by Erika Johansen … I absolutely adore the first two novels in this series. I raved about The Queen of the Tearling in my recent review and read the second book, The Invasion of the Tearling, in about a day. I cannot wait to read the next one. The only thing holding me back is the fact that it hasn’t been published yet.

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas … I picked up the first book in this series desperately wanting to like it. Unfortunately, I found it poorly written, incredibly dull and filled with two dimensional characters. I gave the book 1/5 stars and, needless to say, I will not be continuing with the series.

The City Watch Collection by Terry Pratchett …  I read the first book in this collection, Guards!Guards!, for one of the challenges of the Winter Biannual Bibliathon. It was my first time reading Pratchett and I loved it. It was hysterical and interesting with brilliant perspective changes. Since then, I have read the second book in this collection – Men At Arms – and book three – Feet of Clay – features in my TBR for this month. Once I have finished this collection, I plan to move on to The Death Collection.

Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson … I very recently finished reading The Final Empire, book one of this series. I found it exciting and fascinating, I fully intend to read the whole lot. Not yet though. I’ll probably space them out over the year.

The Bone Season series by Samatha Shannon … This series is set in the future where a fascist regime has taken over most of the world. There are Voyants, people with varied psychic powers and they are strictly forbidden. If you are caught, you are never seen again. I really enjoyed both The Bone Season and The Mime Order. I will carry on with the series just as soon as the next book is published.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater … This is another series about psychics but it is in a far softer setting. It follows Blue as she tentatively make friends with boys from the local prep school and joins them in their quest hunting ley lines. This series is lighthearted with interesting voyages into history. I have currently finished The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves, and I plan on reading Blue Lily, Lily Blue this month before waiting for the final book, The Raven King, to come put later this year.

The King Killer Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss … This is probably my favourite uncompleted series. It is a story of a great man, as told by himself. In these books (The Name of the Wind and The Wise Mans Fear) protagonist Kvothe tells the tale of his life. These books have made me laugh and cry; I have walked Kvothe’s life with him and I have lived his adventures. Book two was published in 2011 and there is still no release date for the final book; speculation is that it will arrive mid 2016 but I dare not hope too much. I will be reading it as soon as it is published.

The Illuminae Files by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff … I read Illuminae in two sittings. It is a gripping sci-fi told in a peculiar and interesting format. It follows two teenagers as they become refugees fleeing from an evil corporation. I quickly become enthralled in the story, only putting it down when I could no longer keep my eyes open. I cannot wait for the second installment scheduled for release at the end of this year.

Six of Crows series by Leigh Bardugo … I first picked this up not entirely sure what I was going to think of it. I needn’t have worried. Six of Crows is an absolutely superlative example of a heist story. It has everything: shady yet charismatic characters, an impossible mission, a hint of romance, and lots of danger. I adored it and will definitely read the next installment once it has been released.

Dreams and Shadows series by C.Robert Cargill … The first book in this series is a peculiar read. It follows the life of a changling child and a boy who has befriended a djinn. It is not told in chronological order and is full of chapters all about fae lore. Though it took me while to fall into the flow of the book, I found it an enchanting read. At some point, I fully intend to read book two, Queen of the Dark Things.

The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare … I read the first book in this series, City of Bones, last year and decided it was merely okay. I think I may have found this series a bit too late in life. The concept of Shadowhunters and their lives seems very childish to me now. I probably would have loved it when I was about fourteen. I have decided not to continue on with it but I have not ruled out trying The Infernal Devices series or the newly released series The Dark Artificers.

A Darker Shade of Magic series by V.E.Schwab … I read A Darker Shade of Magic for my book club last year and thoroughly enjoyed the story. It follows a man who can walk between worlds. Naturally, he gets himself into trouble and chaos ensues. I fully intend to read the next installment, A Gathering of Shadows, when it is released at the end of the month.

The Land of Stories series by Chris Colfer … This is a middle grade series about a pair of twins who fall into a book of Fairy Tales. It is wonderfully enchanting and I have only read the first two books (there are four and a novella currently with a fifth on the way). I intend to buy the entire series at some point (I borrowed the first two from a friend) and read them. I will probably do it in the summer, an unusual time for fairy tales, but it just seems right.

Writing this, I found it hard to believe that I am partway through at least fifteen series. I’ve probably forgotten quite I few. I am quite pleased with the fact that I only intend to abandon three of these. Let me know which series you have given up on and which you are desperate to continue, I would love to know!

Keep Reading

Jaz

Leave a Reply

