Top 5 Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

Top 5 Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

I have decided to start participating in Top 5 Wednesday, a Goodreads group created by gingerreadslainey over on YouTube. Every week has a set topic for a Top 5 list and this week is Disappointing Eye Candy – books that look gorgeous but were awful. I think this is going to be fun!

5. Babayaga by Toby Barlow

baba

This novel, set in 1950’s Paris, is a tale of love, spies, and witches. That sounds like a great combination to me! Unfortunately it fell flat on its face. I frequently found myself bored whilst reading it and the only part of the story I was interested in was the side plot of The Flea, a stereotypical French sleuth. I also felt that Baba Yaga was warped and twisted into what the author wanted her to be and that the book’s title is very misleading. I picked this book up for its cool cover and interesting title (lesson learned) and ended up giving it 2/5 stars.

4. Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

twilight

I really do love this book cover. I’m a sucker for the red/black/white combination and it just looks clean and classy. The apple even makes it look like a cool fairy tale retelling. No such luck. I found this book to be a complete waste of time; totally cheesy and unrealistic. I gave it 2/5 stars.

3. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

miniaturist

This book is absolutely gorgeous – check out those blue pages. I was so psyched up to read this. I really wanted to enjoy it. A novel set in 17th century Amsterdam with an eerie doll’s house. To me, that sounds incredible. Unfortunately, I could not get on with the writing style. I often found my attention drifting as I was bogged down in too much description. I gave this book a 2/5 stars but don’t let that stop you reading it. Loads of people loved this book and it has 3.5/5 stars on Goodreads.

2. Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

throughthewoods

This is a graphic novel featuring a series of short stories all involving a wood. Isn’t it stunning? The cover is textured as well, which just adds to its attractiveness. I enjoyed reading this because it is full of gorgeous artwork but found it disappointing because the stories were a bit too short, often ending in strange places. This book would have been drastically improved by fuller, more fleshed out stories. I gave it 3/5 stars.

1. A Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss

slowregard

This is novella written for the King Killer Chronicles and I feel bad for being disappointed by it. One of the first things Rothfuss tells us is ‘You might not want to buy this book.’ It is a story about the series’ oddest character, Auri. It is supposed to be unlike stories you are used to reading. And it was. The book is exactly what it was promised to be and, unfortunately for me, it was not something I enjoyed. I ended up giving it a 1/5 stars and was absolutely gutted to do so. Please don’t let this put you off the rest of the series though. The Name of the Wind and The Wise Man’s Fear are both phenomenal books (5/5 stars each).

So those are my prettiest disappointments! Which book did you judge by it’s cover only to me left disappointed? Let me know!

Keep Reading

Jaz

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

Leave a Reply

