Harry Potter Spells Tag

Harry Potter Spells Tag

Today I am going to be doing the Harry Potter Spells Tag. This tag was created by TurtleSympathy over on YouTube. For this tag, you pick some spells from Harry Potter and write questions about books to go with them. I have used a combination of spells/questions written by other people and ones I came up with myself.

spells

Epecto Patronum: A childhood book connected to good memories … For this I have chosen a book that my dad used to read to us, The Monster Book of Horrible Horrors by Michael Piquemal, Korky Paul, and Peter Haswell. This whole book is told in verse and is about an elf who sneaks into a ogre’s lair to save children. My dad used to do the voices perfectly and I still know the book off by heart. Definitely one of my happiest book memories.

Expelliarmus: A book that took you by surprise … How To Build A Girl by Caitlin Moran. I was surprised by how good this book was. I’m not sure what I was expecting but it certainly wasn’t what I got. This book felt so truthful and realistic, Johanna Morrigan felt like a completely normal and real girl growing up the best she could under bad circumstances. I enjoyed this book immensely, it was faced-paced and incredibly witty. I gave it a 4/5 stars.

Prior Incantato: The last book you read … Ready Player One by Ernest Cline. This book was phenomenal. I was completely hooked by the fabulous narration, the exciting story line, and the pop culture theme. You can read my review here, where I gave it a 5/5 stars.

Alohamora: A book that introduced you to a genre you had not considered before … Before reading Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, I had never really considered Science Fiction as a genre I was interested in. This book really opened my eyes and I have started reading more Sci-Fi as a result.

Riddikulus: A book you found hilarious … For this I have chosen The Martian by Andy Weir. Despite the serious subject matter, protagonist Mark Watney is hilarious. I spent a lot of my reading time giggling at every thing he had to say. If you like comedy and science, I strongly recommend you read this book. If you still need convincing you can check out my full review here.

Sonorus: A book you think everybody should know about … Muddle Earth by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell. This is a whacky novel about a boy who is sucked into Muddle Earth whilst out walking his dog. He was summoned into the magical world to save it; you follow him on his hilarious journey of becoming an accidental hero. It’s a great read for kids and adults alike.

Obliviate: A book or spoiler you would like to forget having read … I would really like to forget the entire Harry Potter series just so I can read it again for the first time. I don’t feel I savoured it enough initially. One of my best mates hadn’t read it until I convinced  her to give it a go; I was so jealous the entire time she was reading it! I cannot possibly put in to words how desperately I want this.

Imperio: A book you had to read for school … Although I have read some great books for school, I am going to talk about one I despised: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens. I found this book to be dry, dull, and a waste of time. I had absolutely zero interest whilst I was reading it. We had to write an essay for our English Literature coursework entitled ‘How does Charles Dickens capture the interest of the reader in the first ten chapters of Great Expectations?’ I wanted to just submit the words ‘He didn’t.’ and leave it at that. In the end, I only managed to read the first ten chapters and then abandoned the book completely. What a waste of time.

Avada Kedavra: A book that could kill … Lullaby by Chuck Palahniuk. This is literally a novel about a book that kills anyone who has heard it aloud. As with all Palahniuk’s novels, this is a twisted read with a surprising plot. I very much enjoyed it.

Accio: A book you would like to have with you always … Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K.Rowling. This is my most read book, clocking in at about thirty reads. I never tire of it, I’m currently listening to the audiobook narrated by the marvelous Stephen Fry. I always have this book with me in ebook form and I have at least four copies on my book shelf.

Wingardium Leviosa: A book that lifts you up … Uprooted by Naomi Novik. reading this book made me so happy. I was feeling a bit rubbish when I started reading but it immediately improved my mood and made me fell a hell of a lot better. It is a fantastic story that reads like a fairy tale. You follow Agnieszka as she plays her part in stopping The Wood, a sentient and malevolent forest, from devouring her valley. I gave this book a 5/5 stars and it’s guaranteed to improve your mood.

Confundo: A book you found confusing … The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I adored this book but I did find it initially confusing. It took me a while to pull all the threads of narrative together into one cohesive story. I do think the confusion is necessary though, it makes it that much more astounding when everything slips into place. The book is mysterious and magical, I gave it 5/5 stars.

Impedimenta: A book that took you ages to read … The Air War by Adrian Tchaikovsky. This is the eighth book in the Shadows of the Apt series and the only one I struggled with. I think that was partially due to the fact that I marathoned  books 4-8 and I needed to switch to something different. I put it down after about 200 pages and didn’t pick it up until six months later. I needed the break. Once I picked it up again, I flew through it and the last two books in the series. Sometimes, even amazing books can give you trouble.

Colloportus: A book you would like to lock behind a door never to be seen again … For this I am going for the entirety of the Twilight Saga by Stephanie Meyer. One of my friends in high school insisted I read this series. Once I’d finished, my first thought was ‘What a waste of time!’ I know lots of people adore this series but I think it’s a waste of paper. I didn’t like the plot, the main characters, or the way the vampires and werewolves were portrayed. I do remember liking Bella’s dad though. He was pretty cool.

I hoped you enjoyed reading this tag! I had great fun writing it. If you want to read more bookish goodness, don’t forget to follow me!

Keep Reading

Jaz

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter Spells Tag

  1. I completely agree with the Twilight series and Uprooted is on my reading list. I just really hope it’s good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

