Top Five: Bookish Pet Peeves

Top Five: Bookish Pet Peeves

We all have pet peeves and avid readers all have bookish pet peeves. There a hundreds of ways to annoy me but here is a list of my Top Five Bookish Pet Peeves.

5. Library books smelling of smoke. When I was younger, the majority of my reading material came from my local library; my pocket money just couldn’t keep up with my reading outgoings. It was great to find a book that made you think ‘Yes! This book was clearly written for me.’ You get it home and crack it open only to be engulfed by the massive wave of smoke that pours over you. Not pleasant. Cigarette smoke is one of my least favourite smells and it is somehow even worse when preserved in the pages of a book.

4. Bookshelves organised by colour. Yes, they look very pretty but it’s just not practical. When I want to find a book on my shelves, all I have to remember is the author’s last name. I do not have to try and remember the exact shade of whatever colour the spine is. It’s a ridiculous system! As far as I’m concerned, the alphabet was invented for shelving books.

3. Cover changes half way through a series. Publishers! Make up your minds! I would really appreciate it if my covers all matched. Mismatched series are terrible to look at. I might as well have just bought the ebook.

2. Books in the wrong section of book shops. I really hate this. It should be easy to find what you are after in a book shop but so many times I’ve had to check multiple places to find the book I need. Fantasy in the normal section, adult fiction in the children’s section, and heaven forbid you should want to find a new hardcover release! This annoys me mainly because it wastes time but also because it can be misleading to readers. It can mean people picking up books that really aren’t taste/age appropriate. It just really bugs me.

1. Folding the page instead of using a bookmark, especially when it’s MY book. This is my number one pet peeve. Why would you damage a book when there are so many bookmark options. You could use an actual bookmark, a train ticket, a postcard, a ribbon, a scrap of paper, a receipt … the list is practically endless. It especially annoys me when it is my book you are defacing. I have lent you this book out of the goodness of my heart and this is how you repay me? Not cool. I once accidentally damaged a book lent to me by a friend. What did I do? Ordered them a new one! The damaged book is still on my shelf. Please stop the book abuse today!

So there you have it! What’s your bookish pet peeve? If you’d like to read more bookish goodness feel free to follow this blog.

Keep Reading

Jaz

One thought on “Top Five: Bookish Pet Peeves

  1. Haha I’ll admit I dog eat my pages all the time. But I don’t mind. However when it comes to borrowing books, I’m very delicate with them because I feel extremely paranoid I would upset them ( I actually never borrow books because I have a great library)Cover changes are the worst! I never get the point of them.

Leave a Reply

