The Ultimate Harry Potter Tag

The Ultimate Harry Potter Tag

Rowling’s world of Harry Potter is my ULTIMATE fandom. I didn’t start reading the books until after the first film came out but since then I have been hooked. The books have been with me through thick and thin. I literally carry them with me everywhere and a Harry Potter reread is one of life’s great pleasures. I’m currently feeling very nostalgic towards Harry Potter and have decided to do The Ultimate Harry Potter Tag.

wandsup

Favourite book?  Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, my original copy fell apart I read it so many times.

Least favourite book?  Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – Harry is so angry and that makes me angry. Not to mention Umbridge.

Favourite movie?  Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I really liked this adaptation, the book was brought to life brilliantly and it was the last film before things took a darker turn.

Least favourite movie? Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, this film lacked a lot of information that, in my opinion, was integral to the overall plot of the book. I was supremely disappointed the first time I saw this film.

Favourite quote?  For shear comedic value:

sirprofessor

Favourite Weasley? Arthur – I love his parenting style, sense of humour, and enjoy the shock value when he does eventually fly off the handle. He is far more clued in than his children seem to think. His greatest ambition? ‘To find out how aeroplanes stay up.’ Adorable.

Favourite female character? For me, this is a two-way tie between Hermione Granger and Nymphadora Tonks. Hermione is the one we see the most of and I adore her well-meaning and bookish, but sometimes fiery, personality. I admire her strong moral compass and her dedication, whether in her school work or in defeating Voldemort. Tonks is the clumsy, joking centre of attention. She would make an awesome best friend and is a fierce spell caster. I would love to hang out with her (provided she wasn’t mooning over some guy).

Favourite villain? This is another split answer. For chaotic evil, my favourite villain is Bellatrix Lestange. She relishes torture and is committed to The Cause. I always enjoy reading about her and feel Helena Bonham Carter did a marvelous job bringing her mental persona to life. For lawful evil, Delores Umbridge take the top spot. I love to hate her. She is self-righteous, a bigot, and has the might of the ministry behind her. It’s people like her that helped Voldemort climb to power in the first place.

Favourite male character? Severus Snape. I liked reading about him when we thought he was evil, the revelation of his love for Lily Potter just made me like him more. He makes an amazing anti-hero and I really couldn’t imagine the series without him.

Favourite professor? Professor Minerva McGonagall – she is easily the best teacher, disciplinarian, and Head of House at Hogwarts. I love how strict she is, she is so passionate that a tiny bit of bias always slips in where Interhouse Quidditch is concerned. She is also a total badass and an animagus. Can you get much cooler? My favourite McGonagall moments are when she tells off Jordan for his Quidditch commentary.

Would you rather A) wash Snape’s hair or B) spend a day listening to Lockhart rant about himself? No-brainer. I would wash Snape’s hair. At least that wouldn’t take all day. We’d probably be a bit awkward around each other afterwards but that is infinitely preferable to being arrested for homicide.

Would you rather duel A) and elated Bellatrix or B) an angry Molly? Definitely Bellatrix. We all saw how that match up ended.

notmydaughter

Would you rather travel to Hogwarts via A) the Hogwarts Express or B) flying Ford Anglia? I would definitely prefer the Hogwarts Express. It’s all part of the experience. Chill out in a compartment with mates, eat sweets, and watch the country side fly by. I also get car sick so if the choice was my mum’s car or an Arriva train, I would still pick the train.

Would you rather A) kiss Voldemort or B) give Umbridge a bubble bath? I am going to go with the bubble bath purely because I think it would be hilarious to ask Umbridge if she’d cleaned behind her ears about fifty thousand times. I’m not proud of it but there you are.

Would you rather ride A) a hippogriff or B) a Firebolt? Hippogriff all the way. How many people can say they have ridden a hippogriff?

Is there a character you felt differently about in the movies? Harry Potter and Ginny Weasley. For the same reason – they are both so sassy in the books and that just doesn’t come through in the films.

Is there a movie you preferred to the book? No. Not even close.

Richard Harris or Michael Gambon as Dumbledore? Richard Harris hands down. He was a wonderful Dumbledore. Michael Gambon didn’t seem to understand anything about Dumbledore and I think he was the only casting mistake in the entire series.

Your top thing (person or event) that wasn’t in the movies that you wanted there the most? Peeves the Poltergeist. He was always hilarious and brought so much colour to Harry’s nighttime wanderings. He was cast and everything! They just decided the films didn’t need him! He had some of the best lines in the books.

peeves

If you could remake any of the Harry Potter movies, which would it be? Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I would fill in all those gaping plot holes.

Which house was your first gut feeling you’d be part of? Slytherin. Their common room sounds like my kind of place.

Which house were you actually sorted into on Pottermore? Slytherin!

slytherin

Which class would be your favourite? It would have to be either Transfiguration, Charms or Arithmacy. I like the precise nature of both Transfiguration and Arithmacy and the usefulness of Charms. I would definitely take all three to NEWT level.

Which spell do you think would be most useful to learn?  Reparo – I have broken about three glasses in the last month. Or maybe the one Hermione uses to dry out her robes in OTP? It would make drying my hair a lot easier.

Which character do you think you’s instantly be friends with? Tonks, as I said earlier. I also think I’d get on swimmingly with Sirius and Remus if we were in The Order together. Fun times.

If you could own one of the three Hallows, which would it be? Definitely the cloak. I’m not really into confrontation so the wand would be no good and I haven’t lost anyone I’m particularly close to so I don’t need the ring either. The cloak would be the most useful and I could use it to sneak up on people and scare them.

Is there any aspect of the books you’d want to change? Yes, I would have Hermione working full time on some spectacular projects, changing wizard life for the better, without Ron and children dragging her down. Ron can marry some bimbo and Hermione can date someone who actually appreciates her intelligence and work ethic.

Favourite Marauder? Padfoot. For sure.

If you could bring one character back to life, who would it be? Sirius Black. He was just starting to get his life back, it wasn’t his time.

Hallows or Horcruxes? Neither. Hallows would paint too much of a target on your back. As for Horcruxes, who even wants to live forever? Not me.

So there it is. Writing this has only increased my burning nostalgia and now I may just have to go crack open Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.

Keep Reading

Jaz

Leave a Reply

