Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

I have no idea who originally started the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag but I have seen it countless times on both WordPress and YouTube. I haven’t been tagged to do this but I thought  I’d give it shot anyway. This tag gives you the opportunity to talk about more controversial opinions which seems like fun!

A book or series you didn’t like … For me, that is probably Divergent by Veronica Roth. I read this book on my sister’s kindle years ago and my dislike for it has stuck firmly in my mind. I remember thinking that the world was really cool and an awesome idea but it was ruined by making what could have been a formidable dystopia into some boring, angsty teenage romance. This book/series had the potential to be so much more than it was.

A book or series you love but everyone seems to hate … I couldn’t think of a book/series that everyone seems to hate and I happen to love, so instead I’m going with a series people just don’t seem to have heard about. The Shadows of the Apt series by Adrian Tchaikovsky is my favourite adult fantasy series of all time and the only other person I know who has read it is my fiancé. It’s about a world at war and instead of humans it’s populated with the human-like insect kinden. The series is incredibly original with a meticulously developed world, realistic characters, and incredible battles. If you like fantasy (or even just action), please pick up the first book of the series: Empire in Black and Gold. You will not regret it.

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the wrong person or an OTP you didn’t like … I am going to answer both of these. Although not really invested in the romances of The Hunger Games trilogy, I was definitely Team Gale. So yeh … no more explanation really required on that front. I do however feel very strongly about this OTP: Romione. What was J.K.Rowling even thinking? Hermione and Ron getting together was such a cop out. I don’t really mind their school-time attraction, they were young and foolish. It’s the epilogue I find so unbelievable. Still together seventeen years later? I don’t think so. They are so ill-suited, always at each other and can never really see eye to eye. Hermione deserves better and, well, I’m not really sure what Ron deserves. They just would not have lasted. I find it completely unbelievable! Rant over.

A popular genre you hardly reach for … Up until about a month ago, this genre would have been Science Fiction. I never really understood the appeal whether in books, television, or film. I’m starting to get it now though. Especially after reading Illuminae by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman and The Martian by Andy Weir. The other popular genres I don’t tend to reach for are Paranormal Romance and regular Romance. If romance is the main plot device, I’m really not interested. I’m all for chucking some romance into an already interesting story line though, I’m not made of stone. And no, vampires do not count as a story line.

A popular character you do not like … I absolutely despise Marianne Dashwood from Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility. Every single time she spoke I wanted to slap her across the face. In both the book and the film. Does anyone else feel this way? Is it just me? I have no idea. I just know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that I hate Marianne Dashwood’s guts. Also, Albus Dumbledore is a manipulative, unfeeling jerk. There. I said it.

A popular author you cannot seem to get into … Sarah J Maas, author of the Throne of Glass series and her new series A Court of Thorns and Roses. I really wanted to like Sarah J Maas, her books sound cool and I have heard nothing but good things about her writing. I have tried, I really have. I find her writing incredibly dull, I didn’t care about any of her characters as they felt so fake and unrealistic, and there only seemed to be the barest hint of a plot. I’ve been thoroughly disappointed by her writing and have decided to cut my losses and not bother with anymore of her books.

A popular trope you are tired of seeing … I’m going to talk about these tropes in the context of YA fiction. The first is Instalove. Love at first sight is boring, unrealistic and more than a little pathetic. The main audience of YA Instalove is impressionable teenagers, some of which will have no real idea of how relationships work outside of fiction. It sets a tremendously bad example. I’m not, however, dissing attraction at first sight. That is totally a thing and helps prepare readers for the real world. The second trope I am tired of seeing is the Quirky Female Protagonist. It’s all a bit too Girl Power and a lot of these characters feel the same from book to book. I personally love YA that’s told from a male POV, I was never a teen aged boy so I find the perspective an interesting read. I still read novels set from a female POV but I prefer it if it’s more than just ‘Look, I’m a geek girl and my life is over’ blah blah blah.

A popular series you have no interest in reading … A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin. To be frank, the TV series is enough for me. I really don’t need both.

The book is not always better than the movie … A have two answers for this one. The first because the book was terrible and the second because the film was EPIC. Mary Poppins is one of my favourite Disney films ever. According to my dad, I used to watch it everyday when I got home from school. I still love it and am constantly singing its soundtrack. I once found a shelf full of P.L.Travers’ Mary Poppins books in my school library. They were incredibly dull and Disney has worked magic on the mundane story lines. This fact was confirmed to me when I watched the biopic film Saving Mr. Banks. Despite her boring writing though, I am thankful to P.L.Travers because, without her, we would never have the film I enjoy so much. The second film(s) is The Hobbit trilogy. I love the book by J.R.R.Tolkien but is still just a children’s book about a treasure hunt. The films made it so much more; the story was fleshed out, became less shallow, and suitable for all ages. It really throws me into Middle Earth, immersing me in way that the books and the Lord of the Rings films didn’t. This trilogy really took it to the next level.

That’s it for the Unpopular Opinions Book Tag! I hope you enjoyed reading my answers and let me know in the comments if you agree with me or if you don’t. I would love to hear what you have to say.

Keep Reading

Jaz

Leave a Reply

