The Winter Biannual Bibliathon

The Winter Biannual Bibliathon

I have decided to take part in the Winter Biannual Bibliathon being hosted on YouTube. It is a seven day read-a-thon (Sunday 3rd January – Saturday 9th January) that consists of a series of reading and video challenges. I will just be doing the reading challenges and plan to post daily about my progress.

The Challenges

  1. Read the group book – Soundless by Richelle Mead
  2. Read a book that has been on your shelf for over a year
  3. Read a book with more than 300 pages
  4. Read a book from your favourite genre
  5. Reread a book from a favourite series
  6. Judge a book by its cover
  7. Read a book that has been recommended to you more than once

I thought these challenges looked fun and were easily doable and so I set to the exciting challenge of picking out my books.

My TBR

The list of challenges leaves quite a bit of flexibility in the books you can choose and also in the number of books you read. I have picked a total of six books as a few of them are over 300 pages.  Here they are:

Soundless by Richelle Mead

soundlessThis the group book chosen for this read-a-thon. It’s one that I have heard a lot about and am looking forward to reading. It’s set in a Chinese mountain village  where everyone is deaf and so they all communicate visually. One day, the villages start to go blind and their food deliveries become smaller and smaller. One girl, however, starts to regain her hearing and it is up to her to find out what is happening and save her village.

I am particularly looking forward to the historical and folklore aspects of this novel. I’m very excited to get begin.

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley
therook

I have chosen this book for the ‘judge a book by its cover’ challenge. This was a pretty exciting one to pick a book for as it meant I could go shopping. I hopped on my bike to go to my local American Book  Center and went directly to the Fantasy / Sci-Fi section. I had a good browse until this cover jumped out at me. I love the cover art – I’m a sucker for a white/black/red cover – it looks so exciting and magical. It was the tag line that sold it me though – ‘WELCOME TO MI5 … FOR WIZARDS’. I love spies, mystery and magic so this book was a no-brainer. Conveniently, it also fills the ‘longer than 300 pages’ requirement. I really enjoy going blindly into a story and cannot wait to dig in.

Artemis Fowl and the Arctic Incident by Eoin Colfer

arcticincidentHarry Potter aside, The Artemis Fowl series is my childhood favourite and I have decided to read the second book for the ‘reread a book from a favourite series’ challenge. Eoin Colfer combines magic, crime, science and good old police work into a thrilling and remarkable series of books. I read first one when I was twelve, it was the first (and by no means last) time I stayed up all night reading. This is the series that really got me into reading and has stayed with me through many rereads over the years. I’m looking forward to luxuriating in this series once more.

Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett

guardsguardsThis is my first Terry Pratchett book ever. (Shocking, right?) I have somehow managed to avoid Pratchett’s Discworld and all the fantastic adventure contained within. I will be reading Guards! Guards!  for the ‘recommended more than once’ challenge. I have had so many people tell me to read this book (and other Discworld novels) , my dad chief among them. I am using this opportunity bite the bullet and head first into this completely foreign world. At 344 pages, this book also qualifies for the ‘more than 300 pages’ challenge. Pratchett truly is an unknown to me and I’m glad of the  chance to rectify this.

The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

invasionofthetearlingI have chosen this book for the ‘favourite genre’ challenge. Fantasy. I realise that every book on this list falls in to this genre but, when I picked it, I was really just looking for an excuse to read it. It is the second book in its series, I positively flew through The Queen of the Tearling and hope for a similar reading experience for this one. The series is set in our future but with a regressed society. It is a very political fantasy with plenty fighting and travelling and a hint of magic.  I have previously reviewed The Queen of the Tearling which you can read here if you are interested.

The Seal of the Worm by Adrian Tchaikovsky

sealofthewormThis is the last of my chosen books and fills the requirement for the ‘sitting on your shelf for over a year’ challenge. It is the 10th book in the brilliant Shadows of the Apt series by Adrian Tchaikovsky, explaining its long shelf life (I have only just finished book 9). It is a remarkable series about a world at war. Each race has the traits of a specific insect, giving us beetle, wasp and ant kinden to name a few. The series follows several characters and masterfully switches POV. I’m very much looking forward to finally completing this series but may not quite manage it in the time limit of the Winter Biannual Bibliathon as it is clocks in a whopping 614 pages.

So there we have it! This is my first read-a-thon and I am excited to get straight into it on Sunday. I will be blogging everyday about my progress and hope I can complete all the challenges on time.

Keep reading,

Jaz

4 thoughts on “The Winter Biannual Bibliathon

Leave a Reply

